Nominations open for the Hillingdon Community Awards 2023

Hillingdon Community Awards Logo | Hillingdon Today

Hillingdon Council is inviting residents to thank a selfless person or team by nominating them for a Hillingdon Community Award.

Launched last year, the Hillingdon Community Awards honour and celebrate Hillingdon’s unsung heroes who go above and beyond to help other people, and who make a positive difference to their communities in doing so.

Any exceptional acts of kindness – whether it’s delivering food, befriending someone or volunteering – that helps make Hillingdon an even better place to live is a good reason to nominate a person or a whole group of people for an award.

Among last year’s 25 winners were; David Odonkara, who won a Keeping the Borough Healthy award for providing free exercise classes during the pandemic; Dee Lennon, who won an Extraordinary Achievement award for overcoming personal difficulties during lockdown to return to work and inspire her students at school; and Bhim Tamang for supporting Hillingdon and west London’s Ghurka Nepalese community.

While the Special Recognition award winner, Brian ‘Bob’ Beeston, received The Civic Medal (the second highest award after the Freedom of the Borough) for his lifetime commitment to helping and supporting young people. 

Residents can nominate a person or group by filling in a short form explaining what they do at the community awards website or by completing a paper nomination form, available from Hillingdon’s libraries and the Civic Centre in Uxbridge. 

Nominations are open until Friday 6 January, and winners will be announced in February and invited to an awards ceremony in the spring.

Leader of Hillingdon Council, Cllr Ian Edwards, said: “I’m delighted that our annual community awards are once again open for nominations.  

“During the past few years, we’ve witnessed the truly remarkable work of many individuals and community groups and these awards are an opportunity for us to recognise their achievements, tell their stories and celebrate the difference they’ve made to our borough.”